Places

La Tour Eiffel from Trocadéro

La Tour Eiffel or Eiffel Tower is one of the most recognisable landmarks in the world. It has been reproduced in many forms – mini replicas, postcards, stamps, greeting cards, wallpapers, key-rings – you name it, it’s been done!

This post is a pure dedication (borderline obsessive) to this beautiful structure – an icon of France!

The first time, I ever walked towards it, I thought to myself, “Hmm, it’s not that big!”. But as you start to get really close to The Iron Lady you realise just how huge it actually is. Standing under it, you feel so small. It is an amazing structure especially for it’s time.

Last year, I went to the top of the tower so I didn’t want to do that again until my friends come to visit. Instead, I went to Trocadéro which is a great place to view the Eiffel Tower. I wanted to take photos of it while it was light up & sparkling but unfortunately my amateur camera skills & lack of tripod meant the photos weren’t the best. However, I will share the best of what I captured.

NOTE: None of my photos are edited in any way. I prefer to capture things as they are instead of enhancing them.

The first photos were taken around 9.30 pm. As you can see it was still nice and bright outside. I tried to get a good spot but kept getting pushed by others trying to do the same. Then the lights turned out as it hit 10 pm.

IMG_3958 IMG_3960 IMG_3963 IMG_3968 IMG_3972

Then it got dark and you could really see the Eiffel Tower dominate the city lights.

IMG_3977 IMG_3986 IMG_3987 IMG_3991 IMG_3993 IMG_4002 IMG_4005

And finally when it sparkles! It’s a magical moment followed by ooh, aaaahs & lots of ooh la lalas (and clapping) It only sparkles once every hour for 5 minutes (apparently, but it was more like 3 minutes)

IMG_4011 IMG_4018

After this, I got a Nutella crepe & caught the metro back to the hostel.

Standard

Leave a Reply

