Places

Villages of Provence – Gordes

Gordes is a place that I’d been dreaming to visit ever since I made my mind to move to France. I had the Abbaye de Sénanque as my wallpaper for at least a year with lavender fields in front of it. To me, that wallpaper was true Provence. Unfortunately, this year due to the heat wave, the lavender was harvested earlier than usual so when I visited Provence, I barely saw any lavender or any sunflower fields. It was just bad luck but it gives me a reason to come back one day when the lavender is in full bloom.

However, as I discovered, there is much more to Provence than lavender. The mountain top villages are so gorgeous and there are other things that are famous in the region like wine and olives.

The village of Gordes is simply breathtaking. All houses in the village are made from only one type of stone so that the entire village looks uniform. I am so glad I visited and I’m looking forward to coming back one day perhaps in early July to ensure I make the most of lavender season.


IMG_5307IMG_5303IMG_5304 IMG_5305 IMG_5308 IMG_5311 IMG_5312

Standard

2 thoughts on “Villages of Provence – Gordes

Leave a Reply

