Places

The Da Vinci Code Trail at the Louvre

“So Dark the Con of Man”

I’ve always been obsessed with Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code novel, the movie and Paris, especially the Louvre. Hence, I decided to visit the Louvre Museum using the Da Vinci Code Trail. It is a visitor trail that is on the official Louvre website which follows the footsteps of Robert Langdon & Sophie Neveu in the museum. I didn’t exactly follow the trail but I used it as a guide to see all the things I wanted to see. In addition, I also followed the “Rose Line” or Paris meridian markers “Arago” outside and inside the museum. When I first arrived in Paris, I also visited the Saint-Sulpice church because of my obsession with the book and movie. As some of you may know, I worked at the Louvre Museum so it has a special place in my heart and so the obsession is real.

In this visit, first outside the Pyramid, I found two Arago medallions or the “Rose Line”. There is also one near the Palais Royal with a missing medallion. There is another one inside the Passage Richelieu which is also shown in the movie as Robert Langdon, played by Tom Hanks, figures out the true meaning of the Holy Grail. After entering the Louvre, I spent my time mostly in the Denon Wing where I found three more Arago medallions. Most people were looking at the art but I was so fascinated by the Arago medallions. I bet most people never even notice them! I also saw the The Wedding Feast at Cana, Virgin of the Rocks, Death of the Virgin and of course the Mona Lisa.

IMG_7977IMG_7958IMG_7793IMG_7800IMG_7813IMG_7818IMG_7824IMG_7828IMG_7830IMG_7837IMG_7844IMG_7846IMG_7851IMG_7854IMG_7861IMG_7864IMG_7867IMG_7872IMG_7879IMG_7882IMG_7884IMG_7893IMG_7896IMG_7897IMG_7904IMG_7907IMG_7948IMG_7964IMG_7969IMG_7981IMG_7990

“The Holy Grail ‘neath ancient Roslin waits.
The blade and chalice guarding o’er Her gates.
Adorned in masters’ loving art, She lies.
She rests at last beneath the starry skies.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

